To those who have written HUNDREDS of words defending the right of “Free Speech” and the ability to call “OUT” while talking to your doubles partner, we have (in my opinion) the final word. Continue reading “OUT!” Call – One more time …
As we move into the semi-finals of the NSMTA doubles tournament, there are a great number of SW Florida senior tennis players in the mix … me included! Continue reading Super SW Seniors
You are getting ready to play a big league or tournament match and during the warmup you hardly get a few good shots to hit. What’s going on? Continue reading “Rules” of Warmup
What happens if you are running for a shot and you say something that distracts/hinders your opponents. Is it OK or a hindrance? Continue reading Premature Evaluation
There are always questions about tennis balls rolling to and from one court to another. Here are two common situations … Continue reading Ball on the Court
The Longboat Key CAT II had a record number of 333 senior tennis playing entrants, several of whom played singles + doubles or two doubles age groups, which all created scheduling nightmares for the tournament runners. Continue reading Making Tournaments Better
You are playing a tournament or league match late in the day and your opponents claim (after losing the first set) that it is too dark to continue to play. What do you do? Continue reading “It’s too dark to play!”
There are many actions taken during a tennis match that are borderline between an actual Hindrance and legitimate play. Here are a few with MY opinions on the legality (confirmed by a USTA official) … Continue reading Hindrance or Legit?
Wimbledon’s governing body, the AELTC, said “the time had come” to introduce a tie-break method at “a reasonable point” in a deciding set. But, did they get it right? And what about the other majors? Continue reading Fifth Set Tie-breakers?
You are playing a point in either singles or doubles and you have an obvious sitter/put-away at the net; but as you are swinging, your opponent(s) yells “Let… play two!” because a ball rolled onto the court. Is that legal?? Continue reading Obvious Sitter Rule?
So, what did you think of the women’s final at the US Open? Was Serena right or wrong in her vociferous complaints of how she was treated? Continue reading Serena’s Surprise
The rule is: “anyone can call a Let.” But what if there was no real reason to call that let, then what do you do? Continue reading Call a “Let”?
During the US Open, the TV camera has “caught” several coaches coaching their players from the stands. Should this practice be stopped or accepted? Continue reading On Court Coaching?
For the first time that I have seen, a big tournament has started using an on-court clock to control the time the server (or returner?) takes between points. Is this a good idea? Continue reading Serve Clock Started
A long-time Newk camp friend writes, “What are the rules and what should you do if you play a guy who tosses and tosses up the ball for serve and catches it over and over?” Continue reading Toss and Catch?