Most all club players never use singles sticks when they play non-tournament singles matches; but face them when playing tournaments. A reader asks, are they obsolete or traditional? Continue reading Using Singles Sticks?
After losing the first set in doubles, you and your partner decide to “change a losing game” and switch deuce/ad returning sides. But during the next set, you forget and go to the wrong return side to play a point. What is the ruling? Continue reading What’s the Ruling?
Some of us are old enough to remember the 1950’s game show “Beat the Clock” … but how are today’s tennis pros doing in beating the new shot clock? Continue reading Beat the Clock
On a serve, is there a difference between calling out “Net” vs. calling “Let” … and who can make those calls? Continue reading “Net” vs. “Let”?
Is it fair play to drop shot off someone’s serve? That moral question comes from a reader. But it relates to a host of other questionable tactics. Continue reading What is Acceptable?
If there is a ball on the court from a missed first serve that eventually rolls into the play area, whose responsibility is it to call a Let … The player on that side? The opponents? A fan? Continue reading Ball on the Court
What is the ruling when a player doesn’t hit an errant service toss but catches the ball on their racquet? And, should catching a toss be allowed at all? Continue reading Riskey Business
While “instant replay” has frustrated some fans and traditionalists, it has helped to “get it right” in many sports. So, why are the clay court tournaments still having the umpire climb down from the chair and search for the correct mark to make a (sometimes) correct line call? Continue reading Arguments or Replay?
You can fake poach at the net to distract your opponent; but how much more can you do without it being called a Hindrance? That question comes from reader Jim Lavoie … Continue reading Jumping Around
What happens when you DON’T call an “obviously out” ball OUT? Confusion and confrontation can follow; but what should be the ruling? Continue reading “Oh, it was out.”
In another variation of what you can or cannot say on the court, here is a situation from Newk camp fellow Wanker, Mike “Rambo” Rennels about using the word “let” … Continue reading Another Bad Word?
Is it “fun” to play a two- or three-hour tournament singles match? Is it healthy/wise to do that? I no longer think so. Continue reading The Irvine Protocol
If you are playing on soft courts and there is a clear mark that the ball was out, is it a given that you can make that call? Not always. Continue reading Two Bites of the Apple
You have an easy sitter just two feet from the net; but as you go to hit it, your opponent runs right at you and then ducks and turns his back … and you flub your shot. Was that a hindrance or legal play? Continue reading Running at the Net
How many times have you and your opponent(s) come to the net trying to iron out a disagreement over the score of a game? There is a real easy – rule following – solution to this problem. Continue reading What’s the score?