Some of us sweat more than others, especially in the hot summer weather; but can your opponents stop you from keeping a ball in your wet pocket? While I know that headline is a great set-up line, that question comes from a reader…
Wet Pocket = Wet Balls
|“Hi George, I was recently questioned by my opponents regarding keeping a second ball in my pocket. I sweat profusely in South Florida especially in August. I told them if John Millman can do it against Federer in the Australian Open then I can do it here. Millman was accused of wiping the balls on his wet tee shirt. ITF does not have a rule against that.|
“Our opponents said that the USTA has a rule against “changing the state of the balls.” I responded that I am not intentionally changing the state of the balls just doing what every player does. Therefore the rule does not apply in this case.
“What say you? David Parker
“PS I am playing like I played 10-15 years ago. My knee and shoulder replacements have been a miracle.” My Answer…
When my shorts get soaked and my doubles partner is serving, I stop keeping the third ball in my pocket for that reason. And when I am serving, I always rotate the “pocket ball” with another to minimize the soaking.
I do believe there is a USTA rule against using the ball to mop sweat from your face or hand; but not one for keeping it in your pocket.
Anyone know the answer or have an opinion?
Know someone who should read this? Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at GeorgeWachtel@gmail.com
My Book: if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page to go to Amazon.com, look at the list of places under “My Book” on the bar above, or ask me what clubs are carrying it!