“Net” vs. “Let”?

On a serve, is there a difference between calling out “Net” vs. calling “Let” … and who can make those calls?

Net vs. Let

When the serve comes over and touches the top of the net, anyone on the court can call “Net,” meaning just that … the ball has touched the top of the net coming over.

But only the receiving team can label the point as a “Let,” meaning that after the ball had touched the net, it then landed in the service box and the opposing server get another first/second serve.

Common Language

All too often, we all (me included) yell out “Let” regardless which side of the court we are on.  That becomes not only the wrong call, but somewhat intimidates the receiving team to “correct” their call if they saw the ball land out.

Comments on the use of these – or other – tennis calls?

Comment Size Limit

I LOVE getting comments on posts to the website.  Without them, it makes me feel like a am writing into a vacuum; but getting a lively debate going makes it all worthwhile.  So, please comment away!

But the comment structure has changed and will now be limited to no more than 250 words.  And considering that is the size of my average post, should normally be enough.  If something comes in over the limit, I will try to edit down to size before posting.

Know someone who should read this?  Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at GeorgeWachtel@gmail.com

My Book: if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page to go to Amazon.com, look at the list of places under “My Book” on the bar above, or ask me what clubs are carrying it!

10 thoughts on ““Net” vs. “Let”?

  1. Thanx, George! I didn’t know the difference between those two terms, and just figured they meant the same. See? I commented!

    Caroline, and rarer still from a Lady! thanks. george

  2. George,
    You are never in a vacuum! I go to your blog the moment I see it online… and love the communication!
    Sorry if I’m more of a reader than a contributor, but you get my two cents occasionally!
    Spike

    Spike, looking forward to your two cents regularly! see you soon!! george

  3. This one is easy: “Net” is a statement of fact. “Let” is a determination of its outcome under the rules of tennis.

    Marty, right! And MOST OF THE TIME, the players can separate Fact from Fiction. thanks, george

  4. GEORGE, If the let serve goes out it’s a fault. Why not play the let that lands in since Seniors sometimes can’t hear the let because of hearing impairment or conflicting sounds off court? This would also eliminate any chance for disagreement with the receiver’s call.

    Tony, college tennis now plays service lets (due to cheating by calling Let on an ace); and i am in favor of doing the same throughout the game … pros to seniors! thanks, george

  5. Spike is right on. I usually go immediately to site when I receive it, for many reasons. One is that I say often every day is a school day………..and I learn much from the site.

    Howie, 🙂 …. thanks! george

  6. George; In this case I would rather comment on the comments:
    Neither a “net” nor a “let” are always a statement of fact as we all know. Sometimes by mistake, sometimes not.
    What a pathetic example of where sportsmanship has gone that in College tennis they play all “lets” due to blatant cheating. Wow. I’ve never played for any High School or College coach who wouldn’t have benched your ass if you cheated like that representing your school. But now that I think about it who should be surprised? It now seems to be accepted that cheating on your wife, on your taxes, on insurance companies etc is just fine if you can get away with it.
    George: I always enjoy your blog. Thanks

    Jim, according to the coaches i have talked with, the pressure to WIN is so strong that morals go by the wayside. Hope to see you on the court next season down south. thanks, george

  7. Jim Lavoie makes a valid point. I said “net” is a statement of fact, and he points out — correctly — that this may not always be true because the reality is someone may be wrong, or there could also be cheating.

    So, I amend my earlier statement: “Net” is a statement of PERCEIVED or ALLEGED fact.

    But I stand by my earlier statement as to what is a “let”.

    I won’t say anything about why college cheating led to the “no let” rule beyond agreeing with everyone else that this is lamentable. (PS, the last I looked, it was only Division 1 college tennis that banned lets. Has this expanded to Division 2, 3 and below now as well?)

    Marty, as of my last understanding, it is only Div 1 that plays no serve lets. george

  8. I think all net balls on serve should be played, if they land in the service box.
    Why do we play net balls during the point? How is that any different?

    Michael, waaaaay too logical! george

  9. One minor correction. Only in men’s college tennis do they play the lets (all divisions). I guess the pressure to win isn’t as high with the women.

    I, too, enjoy reading but don’t comment very often. Looking forward to getting back to Naples in the fall to see many of you.

    Jim, interesting about the women … i would guess that there is less cheating with our lady friends. thanks, george

  10. In my last tennis game I called a Let.
    Both of my doubles opponents were deaf and did not hear it. They looked angry since they thought they had served in Ace.
    My partner and I decided not to call anymore Lets; but just to keep playing next time it happened.

    Clive, aaaah, Senior Tennis! thanks, george

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *