What is the ruling when a player doesn’t hit an errant service toss but catches the ball on their racquet? And, should catching a toss be allowed at all?
Alison’s Riskey Business
During her excellent Wimbledon match with Serena, Alison Riske tossed the ball to serve, but then brought her racquet down and had the ball bounce off it on the fly. Should that have been called a fault?
The chair umpire stayed silent and, in my opinion, rightfully so. While someone like Curious Kyrgios might use the same motion to then hit an underhanded serve, the American woman did not “make an attempt to hit the ball,” which, I believe is the criterion for a fault call.
What is your call?
If Brad Gilbert ruled tennis, he would have an errant/caught toss be called a fault. If you have ever played against someone who continually catches their service tosses, you know how annoying it can be. It also ends up becoming an ADVANTAGE to the server; because the returner never knows which toss is going to be caught and which is going to be served.
My opinion? Players should be allowed ONE caught toss per serve; and the second one then must be put into play.
What is your opinion?
P.S. Who is that sophisticated looking, older gentleman who frequently appears in Nadal’s friend box?
Know someone who should read this? Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at GeorgeWachtel@gmail.com
My Book: if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page to go to Amazon.com, look at the list of places under “My Book” on the bar above, or ask me what clubs are carrying it!