There is a believed bad call against a player and they just can’t seem to let it go. They carry on in their minds, or to the referee, or to the other player, or to their “team”… and they lose focus.
Reilly Opelka Example
The young, seven-foot American was playing a lead-up tournament to the French Open on red clay (i.e. no challenge/review system being used) and he stopped play on a critical point on his baseline. The official came out of the chair, checked the mark, and declared it “Good” and loss of point.
Young Opelka couldn’t stop making faces and gesturing towards the people in his box; to the point where he wasn’t making any shots.
Let it Go
The teaching point is: one bad call usually won’t change the outcome of a match; but how you react to it can. (P.S. further TV review showed the official was correct and Reilly was wrong).
So whether it is a perceived bad line call or your own “blown shot,” the key to victory is having the proverbial “short memory” and focus on playing the next point.
Your thoughts on handling your emotions? And, why don’t clay court tournaments use Shot Spot to avoid confusion and arguments?
Drilling for Gold
Our own Fred Drilling has done it again! He teamed with Don Long to win the National 75s Hard Court Gold ball in three sets over the #2 seeds; and then went on to take the Silver in the singles, losing to the always-tough Jimmy Parker.
Know someone who should read this? Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at GeorgeWachtel@gmail.com
My Book: if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page to go to Amazon.com, look at the list of places under “My Book” on the bar above, or ask me what clubs are carrying it!