“OUT!” Call – One more time …

Richard Emmert

To those who have written HUNDREDS of words defending the right of “Free Speech” and the ability to call “OUT” while talking to your doubles partner, we have (in my opinion) the final word.

“Who ya goin’ call?”

Dave Bushey, a website reader sent this issue to the Tennis Magazine’s author of “Court of Appeals,” Rebel Good, who is a member of the USTA’s Tennis Rules and Regulations committee and has taught the rules to officials for more than 20 years.

Here is the question and the simple 19-word answer …

“A ball was hit deep toward the baseline, one partner advised the other “out” while the ball was still in the air. His partner thought it was going to be close and decided to play the ball as in and returned the ball for a winner.

“The other team declared that the point is over once the “out” call was made. The team making the winning return said you can say anything while the ball is in the air coming toward your side of the court.

What is the correct ruling?”  David Bushey, Bonita Springs Fl.

The answer: David— “Out” is a call. If it caused the opponents to stop play they can claim the point for hindrance.  Rebel Good

Today’s Tournament Doubles

After my doubles partner Noble Hendrix won a two-hour singles match this morning, we teamed up in the afternoon to face my former doubles partner Chuck Kinyon (Dartmouth tennis coach) and Noble’s former doubles partner Walt Peckinpaugh.

After six games all on serve, Noble and I took over the net – and the match – to run 8 consecutive games for a 6-3, 6-1 victory.

Tomorrow, we once again take on Eichmann and Jean (Marco Island), who bested Chuck and Walt on Monday in a deciding ten-point Match Tiebreaker.

For all results and future matches at WTC, just click HERE

“John McEnroe and Anybody”

Larry Turville had asked for my input on seeds for next week’s CAT II at Sanchez-Casal; and I had a little problem with one team.

Using the Universal Tennis Rating (UTR) website, I was able to rank most all the teams … except for Fred Drilling and his new partner for this tournament, Richard Emmert.

All my online research turned up was that he had competed in a men’s 85s (!) singles tournament; so I called Fred and asked him.  Fred said, “Noooo, he is not in the 85s … he is now 90!”

They are now seeded #7 … so tune in next week to see how they do.

For all the seeds (plus the draws when posted), click HERE

Know someone who should read this?  Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at GeorgeWachtel@gmail.com

My Book: if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page to go to Amazon.com, look at the list of places under “My Book” on the bar above, or ask me what clubs are carrying it!

2 thoughts on ““OUT!” Call – One more time …

  1. I am filing a petition for certiorari to the US Supreme Court first thing in the morning. This is WRONG!!!

    🙂

  2. George. Maybe you don’t want any more opinions on this but with all due respect I totally disagree with your final verdict about the out/ hindrance call. Seems to me that when the ball is heading toward your opponent and one of the opponents calls “out”, or “bounce it” or “no” or whatever, he is talking to his partner not to his opponents. This is just guidance. Then the partner instinctively plays the ball or not. If he lets it go then another call needs to be made whether it was in fact in or out. If he instinctively plays the ball then it is in play. The team hitting the original shot should be ready to play the ball if it is returned to them. A player, with a ball heading toward him, cannot call a ball in or out until it lands so why should the opponent be hindered by that call any more than they would be by a “bounce it” or “no” or any other utterance?

Comments are closed.