What happens if you are running for a shot and you say something that distracts/hinders your opponents. Is it OK or a hindrance?
I was playing a doubles match and one of my opponents hit a sliced drop shot. I started to move towards; but thought I couldn’t get there and said, “Nice shot!” But the ball bounced up higher than it was supposed to; and I lunged and got it back.
But my opponents had both stopped playing because of what I said; and my shot went easily by them for a winner.
The “no talking rule” says that I CAN talk as the ball is coming towards me (but not as it is going the other way); but could my words be construed as a hindrance?
“I can’t get it!”
A similar situation happened to me playing a singles tournament match vs. a known “gamesman.” I hit a drop shot and as he was running towards it, he said, “I can’t get it!”
I stopped playing … and he got to it and dropped it back over the net for a winner.
Now, in the first example, my exclamation was purely unintentional; but I am sure in the second example (based on many other examples with this player) that his was INTENTIONAL.
Does that make a difference and what should the ruling be??
Know someone who should read this? Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at GeorgeWachtel@gmail.com
My Book: if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page to go to Amazon.com, look at the list of places under “My Book” on the bar above, or ask me what clubs are carrying it!