Touching The Net

Kelli and Larry

“If a player touches the net, likely after hitting a volley, is it their call to make or can an opponent make the call?”

This question comes from friend and teaching pro Steve Diamond, who continues, “I didn’t find anything in the rules after 20 minutes of reading a Friend at Court. I know that a player must make all calls on his side of the net including double hits and carries. But the net isn’t on anyone’s side. I’m thinking the player must call it on himself, but I’m not 100% sure. Any thoughts? It happened at my club during a match and I wasn’t there.”

My Opinion

I too couldn’t find anything definitive; but believe as you do that it is the hitter’s call.

Anyone know the answer?

Larry Turville Update

Larry writes from Houston, “Hanging in there.  Went to the tennis matches at River Oaks and saw great doubles match with Krygios & Reid vs Nester & Karlovic.  Anyway started radiation and continues for six weeks.   The only setback so far was starting losing my hair (top & face) because of Chemo so Kelli decide I needed to shave it off.   It’s not my best look , wearing a hat a lot.   Attached picture of Kelli and I at River Oaks (it was cool that day).”

Larry: Attack it like you attack the backhand slice!

Know someone who should read this?  Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at GeorgeWachtel@gmail.com

My Book: if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page to go to Amazon.com, look at the list of places under “My Book” on the bar above, or ask me what clubs are carrying it!

9 thoughts on “Touching The Net

  1. On touching the net. Tennis is after all a test of character. I am thinking of line calls, verbal/racquet abuse, etc. Why lie steal or cheat or tolerate those that do?

    AGREE!

  2. It’s a gentlemen’s game. Of *course* you call it on yourself.

    Kevin, but can your opponent? george

  3. 2017 fac – see 24.g

    24. PLAYER LOSES POINT
    The point is lost if:
    a. The player serves two consecutive faults; or
    b. The player does not return the ball in play before it bounces twice
    consecutively; or
    c. The player returns the ball in play so that it hits the ground, or before it
    bounces, an object, outside the correct court; or
    d. The player returns the ball in play so that, before it bounces, it hits a permanent
    fixture; or
    e. The receiver returns the service before it bounces; or
    f. The player deliberately carries or catches the ball in play on the racket or
    deliberately touches it with the racket more than once; or
    g. The player or the racket, whether in the player’s hand or not, or anything
    which the player is wearing or carrying touches the net, net posts/singles
    sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band, or the opponent’s court at any time
    while the ball is in play; or

    Gary, yes, but the “who can call?” question still remains. thanks, george

  4. In my opinion, the principle of “player must make all calls on his side of the net” means that any potential rules violation by that player (ball bounces twice before being hit, double hit, etc.) should be called by that player. Thus touching the net by that player would be a rules infraction on his side of the net (the players is on his side of the net), and the question of “which side of the net is the net on” is not relevant.

    Jack, you might be right on that. thanks, george

  5. Here is the rule from “The Code”

    Code § 19. A player shall concede the point when:
    • A ball in play touches that player;
    • That player touches the net or opponent’s court while a ball is in play;
    • That player hits a ball before it crosses the net;
    • That player deliberately carries or double hits a ball; or
    • A ball bounces more than once in that player’s court.
    The opponent is not entitled to make these calls. The principle of giving the opponent the benefit of any doubt applies.

    Mark, The Answerman! Thanks. George

  6. Contact with the net is an easier call then hitting the ball before it breaks the plane of the net – your opponent can call you for hitting too early it because it is on their side of the net where they claim you hit it? Harder to know for sure an infraction took place. Technically interesting but infrequent issues – proper to ask opponent if his foot hit the net the same as you can ask an opponent if he is sure of an out call? Probably not because the point is still being played and you would have to stop play and ask. If the point continues after you saw your opponent hit the net , too late afterwards to talk about it as you kept playing?

    Winder, all moot, if the honest player calls on themself! Thanks. George

  7. “The opponent is not entitled to make these calls. The principle of giving the opponent the benefit of any doubt applies.”

    So would this apply to a foot fault? As we know, this can give one quite an advantage, especially if the offender is serving and volleying.

    Alan, NO ONE ever calls a foot fault on themselves! thanks, george

  8. George, I believe anyone can ask did you touch the net? However, when you do touch the net you immediately call it on your self.

    Phil, like, “can you check the mark?”? Thanks. George

  9. A test of character….exactly! You call a net violation on yourself! We are privileged to play the great game of tennis, and honesty and integrity is at the heart of our game!

Comments are closed.