What’s The Call?

Crootof Photo

What happens when the receiver’s partner calls “Good” on a serve and the opponents stop playing the point?

The Story …

A reader writes, “I’m playing a league match with my friend vs another club. He serves to the ad court, right into the corner. As the ball lands the partner of the returner yells out something that I hear as “out” so when the returner hits a “sitter” right back to me I just bunt it into the net.  Then the guy says it is their point because he yelled “good” not “out”.  A discussion ensues and we end up playing a let. Correct call?

My “Ruling” …

I believe that the returning team can only yell “Out,” or “Long” or similar words and stop play.  By calling “Good” they have created a verbal hindrance and they should lose the point.

In fact, I have tennis friend whose return of serve GRUNT sounds very much like he is saying the word “Out” and he has been called on it several times.

Other opinions or comments?

Know someone who should read this?  Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at GeorgeWachtel@gmail.com

My Book: if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page to go to Amazon.com, look at the list of places under “My Book” on the bar above, or ask me what clubs are carrying it!

7 thoughts on “What’s The Call?

  1. This might be covered by the talking or verbalizing rule that says “after you have hit the ball you must remain silent”. Any talking other than out is just wrong and should be considered interference. A serve does not need to be called good only out. Good is understood.

    Bill, you actually raise a fine point on the other side … the receivers could claim that he made the “good” call before his partner hit the ball, thus it was still traveling TOWARDS them. But, i think they are still wrong. thanks, george

  2. I agree George. Can you imagine if an opponent called good on every shot?? A shot is assumed in unless called otherwise. On another note, your Denny’s quote is hilarious (and no, I did NOT go to Denny’s on Monday!)!

    Steve, let me be #302 to wish you a happy birthday. george

  3. It is my opinion you can say “Yours, mine, I got it, switch, stay” or recite Shakespeare until the time the ball is struck. It is a hindrance only after it is struck. That said, if the opposing team thinks they heard “out” I think it would be fair to play a let.

    So Mike, you think calling “good” is ok??? How about on a baseline ground stroke, that too? george

  4. Another “What’s the Call?”. We are playing doubles and our opponent hits a high lob that I think is going out so I call “out” while it is high in the air. The ball bounces in and my partner returns the shot. Our opponents stopped play and said it is their point because I yelled out. What is the call?

    Doug, i believe we talked about this situation a little while back and the consensus is that you cannot call “Out”. You can so “No”, “bounce it”, etc. but not OUT. george

  5. I was playing yesterday and my partner returned a serve to the baseline and his partner called what I thought was ‘out’. The server hit a week shot which I just caught, thinking the point was over. The partner said he said ‘bounce’, not out. I gave them the point, but I think the point should have been played over. Your thought?

    Michael, nope … their point. See the comment on a similar situation above. thanks, george

Comments are closed.