You go on the doubles court and flip a racquet to make the serving/receiving choice BEFORE you start your warm-up; then you and your partner go to the proper side and warm-up against your opponents. But SHOULD you?
Warm-up WITH Your Own Partner
Regular reader Winder Bill writes,
“I watched online the UVA vs UNC men’s NCAA tennis championships finals and noted that the doubles teams did not warm up with their opponents; but with each other. After each team warmed up, the 3 doubles matches started without any hitting with the opposing teams.
“How would that translate into our senior doubles tournaments? First, the typical 5 or 10 minute warm up would happen with your partner across the net and you are next to one of your opponents. Switching from straight ahead hitting to crosscourt and then when to start serving warmup would need good communication and cooperation.
“What are the rules – can you insist on hitting with your partner or do the opponents have to agree? Same rules for USTA as ITF?”
With your own partner, you can have a much more “cooperative warm-up”, getting just the shots you each want to work on. But you would miss the “intelligence gathering” that can come during the first hit with unknown opponents.
Another plus, you could all warm-up your serves on the side that you will be actually serving from during the match.
What do you think? Anyone know the rules?
Know someone who should read this? Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at GeorgeWachtel@gmail.com
My Book: if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page to go to Amazon.com, look at the list of places under “My Book” on the bar above, or ask me what clubs are carrying it!