What Did He Say?
While watching a tournament singles match, I heard one player exhale loudly after each shot + then seem to say something unintelligible after that. The umpire was nearby, so I asked him what the rule is on that.
He said that if the opponent says that noise bothers him (especially if it comes on shots that are near the line and could be misinterpreted as an OUT call), then he can claim a hindrance and replay the point.
If it happens again, the Grunter would lose the point.
One friend of mine (and you know who you are) has a grunt on a return of serve that sounds awfully like the word “OUT” — and he knows it. If challenged, he will let the server replay the point.
But on the pro tour, I think in some cases, the grunting has really gotten out of hand and needs to be controlled. But how?
What do you think?
Know someone who should read this? Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at George@seniortennisandfitness.com
My Book: if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page to go to Amazon.com, look at the list of places under “My Book” on the bar above, or ask me!