Can you call a Let for a ball that is in your path if it was there at the start of the point?
During a singles match with a friend, I let his missed first serve go by me toward the back fence; and he served his second serve. But neither of us noticed that his first serve ball had hit the fence and rolled back toward the baseline.
He hit a ball to my backhand side and then to the deuce court; but as I started to run for it, I saw the ball in my path and stopped play.
What’s The Rule?
During a tournament match at World Tennis, I saw the referee tell a player (Clive Kileff) that he could NOT call a Let for a ball near his sideline during a point; because it was there at the start of the point.
But that ball was in front of them; so they both could have seen it. In this case, neither of us saw the ball roll back behind me.
So, What’s The Call?
Congrats to Phil Landauer
Naples own Phil Landauer teamed with Tony Dawson (Texas) to win a Gold Ball at the 65 Grass Court Championships last weekend at the Seabright Lawn Tennis Club, NJ. And Mike Dahm won the consol doubles too. For the full draw, click HERE
Know someone who should read this? Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at George@seniortennisandfitness.com
My Book: and if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page.