Off The Court
You’re playing a doubles or singles match and the third ball goes over the fence during a game. Should you stop play and chase it or wait till the server ends their game?
I believe it should be “server’s choice” … in other words, if they are willing to have an interruption in their serving rhythm for the ball to be retrieved, OK. If not, wait.
Ball In Receiver’s Pocket
There are some players who usually will hold the third ball while YOU are serving; and then give it to you when you ask for it. My belief is this is gamesmanship and they are attempting to control the pace of play by holding the ball.
The rule/etiquette is clear: when convenient or requested, all three balls should be on the server’s side of the net.
At The Net
Some doubles partners don’t want to hold their serving partner’s third ball in their pocket; so they roll it to the base of the net. Other players don’t like the visual distraction of having that third ball in their line of sight when returning and playing the point.
I agree with the second viewpoint… if the server’s partner doesn’t want to hold the ball, roll it to the back fence.
What do you think?
Know someone who should read this? Send them a link and if you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at George@seniortennisandfitness.com
My Book: and if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page.