What’s The Score?

Peter Peczley
Peter Peczley
You are playing a grueling and long match, losing track of the sequence of serving. After you each serve (your opponent from the north end and you from the south end), the player who served first from the north end starts serving again and plays two points until you realize what happened. What do you do and what’s the score?

This happened in the match between Hank Irvine and Dave Spilseth on Tuesday. I was watching with Doug Brunner who said after Dave won two points, “Didn’t Dave already serve from that side?” I yelled out to Hank to check the sequence and they both agreed they had screwed up.

What’s The Score?

They came to the net (actually, they sat down because they were both tired) and agreed correctly: All points played in good faith stand. So they switched sides and Dave Spilseth continued serving at 30-love. The correct solution.

My Singles Quarter-finals

Today, my challenge was to play #2 seeded Peter Peczely (who beat me soundly two years ago 6-0, 6-1). Knowing he was a superior player, my “game plan” was to play with controlled aggression and come to the net as much as possible and get as many games as I could.

He started serving and I broke him! Then I served the second game and had a 40-15 lead… only to miss an aggressive forehand down the line and then serve-volley and miss the volley wide.

He then broke me and settled into his strong baseline game, hitting the balls deep in the court and serving very, very well. He took the first set 6-2.

Second Set

Although the points and games were close, he continued his dominance and was serving 4-0. I said to myself, “6-2, 6-0 is not much better than I did before.” And buckled down as hard as I could.

I was able to break him and serve at 1-4. Then held a good service game to go 4-2; and continued my “comeback” to manage a break point in the next game (which would have brought us back on serve); but he aced me down the middle in the ad court.

Marathon Game

Even though I would have been content with 6-2 6-2, I really wanted to win one more game. And what a game it was! I served at 2-5 for more than 15 minutes, saving two match points; but unable to convert TEN game points.

I finally hit deep to his backhand and came to the net and he missed the passing shot. He then served it out for a 6-2, 6-3 victory (which I was very happy about).

Tomorrow starts the doubles. For the full draws and all results, click HERE.

If you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at George@seniortennisandfitness.com

My Book: and if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page.

5 thoughts on “What’s The Score?

  1. Great stuff, George — lots of improvement and many lessons for you to take to future matches.

  2. Following up on your comments re serving on the wrong side, what is the correct call if it was agreed that the wrong player had started serving and was up 30-0? [Not so likely to happen in singles but I’ve seen it happen in doubles among us seniors]. Do you start the game over or does the intended player begin serving at 0-30?

    Bob, i would think that if the rule is “All points played in good faith stand,” then you would switch servers and keep the points.. george

  3. Remembering sequences and even the score has become the hardest part of the game in many ways among us 65 + crowd! Thanks George. Great stuff!

  4. George, quickly go on the tournament website and make a copy of it for future use. The winner of your match evidently was YOU, even though you thought you lost. This could go along with points played, and with mistakes made, and I think you should show up tomorrow to play the semi’s. Good luck:)!

    Fred, i saw that! I thought i played well, but not THAT well. Play well today. george

  5. When you saw that they were playing in error, was it appropriate for you to call out and notify them? Shouldn’t you have just let them play on and figure it out themselves? Is this the same as coaching, or getting involved in line disputes?

    Terry, i actually hesitated for that very reason; but since i know both guys fairly well — and did not see a ref handy — i stuck my two cents in! george

Comments are closed.