“I was taught that once the point is underway and both players are at the net, each player should cover his own lobs. If you’re so close to the net that you can’t cover a lob, you’re too close,” says Marty Judge. But is that correct?
The Tandem Debate
One of our Silver-ball-winning friends agrees strongly with that philosophy: he says not only should you cover your own lobs, but you should be aggressive at the net.
I am on the other side of that debate… I believe that, when you and your partner are at the net and the opponent hitting the ball is on the baseline, the man ON THE SIDE OF THE COURT WHERE THE BALL IS going deep is the aggressor and should be tighter to the net.
His partner should be two or three steps deeper than he is and ready to cover the lob on either side of the court. When I asked Luke Jensen this question at camp he said, “Sure, if you are 25 years old and mobile, you cover all your own lobs; but if you are a senior player, with less mobility, you play slightly tandem.”
What do you think?
Longboat Key CAT II
That first tournament of the winter season starts this week. I am playing and unseeded in singles – although I bested two of the seeded players last season; but they both have played a LOT of tournaments and garnered many points… and at least two better players than me are also not seeded: Hank Irvine and Doug McCrea – who I have to play in the first round (he beat me easily at World Tennis last January).
In doubles, Chuck Kinyon and I are seeded #3; but will have several tough matches to advance into the final rounds. For the full draws in all age groups, just click HERE.
If you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at George@seniortennisandfitness.com
My Book: and if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page.