At this weekend’s Davis Cup quarterfinal singles match between Jo Tsonga (France) vs. Andy Murray (Great Britain), the Frenchman tossed the ball to hit his serve, swung his racquet at the ball, and MISSED it (the picture is of his toss coming down as he swung and missed).
What is the ruling? Like in golf, when you swing and miss at the ball, it is an official attempt… and therefore, this was a fault.
Brad Gilbert’s Wish
If he ruled tennis, Brad Gilbert would make the serve “official” when the server tossed the ball into the air. Such a rule would take away the annoying delays of players who continually catch their toss.
I have been on the receiving end of such a server many times and you are actually at a disadvantage because you don’t know which errant toss he will choose to hit.
So I would almost side with Brad… I would give the server ONE errant toss per service motion and make them swing at the next one. That would allow for bad wind or just a bad toss.
PS I think Andy Murray will win the tie vs France by himself (Doubles with his brother)
If you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at George@seniortennisandfitness.com
My Book: and if you’d like to get a copy of “Senior Tennis”, just click on the link on the upper right of this web page.