You are waiting to receive serve. Your opponent tosses the ball and catches it. He resets. You reset. He tosses the ball and catches it. He resets. You reset. He tosses the ball (you are now on your heals, waiting for him to catch it) and he serves an ace!
Brad Gilbert thinks that should not be allowed. He and fellow TV announcers were talking during the US Open; and Brad feels “the point should start once the server tosses the ball… if he chooses to catch it, it should be a fault.”
Pam Shriver suggested “maybe it should be like the line call challenges: they get three per set and THEN it is a fault.”
Another parallel I would suggest would be like The Hat Flying Off Rule… the first one is not a problem (the opponent can call Play Two); but the second occurrence is deemed to be a hindrance and loss of point. Using that example, the first errant toss on a given point (or during a service game) could be no penalty; but all others after that – during that point (or game) constitute a fault.
What do you think?
National 65s Grass
This national tournament is currently underway at the Seabright Lawn Tennis Club in New Jersey. If you want to see the results for some familiar names, just click HERE
If you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at George@seniortennisandfitness.com