Ball, Racquet and Court

Here’s a strange happening and a challenging rule interpretation…ball ground

A tennis friend said they were playing a doubles match and one of the net players went to hit a low volley when this occurred: they all agreed that the player’s racquet contacted the ball just as the ball struck the court (on its first bounce); and somehow the ball then went over the net!

He asked me, “What’s the rule?”

While it seems very, very unlikely to me that those three elements came together at EXACTLY the same instant, if that is true, I do not know what the ruling would be.

You can argue that the ball only bounced once and the player is allowed to hit the ball with his frame. So in that case the “shot” would be called good.

Any answers??

If you are not on my “new posting alert email list” and want to be (I promise, no other uses of your email address!), just drop me a note at George@seniortennisandfitness.com

6 thoughts on “Ball, Racquet and Court

  1. If the ball had extreme topspin it means it last struck the ground last. This does occur when the ball is compressed and is forced back into the ground. The topspin is the telltale stictly from a technical standpoint.

  2. This happened to me. I agree with Bill that topspin would result in loss of point. But this shot had NO topspin. There was no perceptible “carry.” So maybe Jake is right, but it appeared to all four players that the ball was trapped under the frame. The four players concluded that it was a legal shot simply because there was no evidence that it was illegal. (Unfortunately I conceded the point immediately after striking the ball, figuring that I must have done something wrong. After seeing the ball bounce, I regretted acting so hastily.)

    Keith – a “once in a lifetime” stroke! tks, george

  3. I think that Keith did the right thing!!! It is a call by the person hitting the ball because unless you have slow motion replay, who is to know!!!

  4. Sounds like a great shot, if I understand. Reminds me of way back when I was a kid, I think we called it “cheesies” when a ball (in this case we are playing wall board) hit the ground and the wall at the same time. It perfectly legal and usually won the point.

  5. The correct answer doesn’t need to resolve the metaphysical issue of what “really” happened. The correct answer is the player who hit the shot calls it on himself. No one else has the right to call the shot or even interject an opinion. So, no matter what “really” happened, or what anyone else may “think” is what “really” happened, if he says he struck the ball properly — that is, he swears it did not hit the court after he touched it and then bounced up but he struck the ball first and then a millisecond later it was his racquet only that touched the court — then the ball is good. No more questions are necessary or allowed, and no debate by others is appropriate.

Comments are closed.