The Double Bounce?

You hit a short ball and your opponent charges in to get it; sticks out his racquet and the ball comes wobbling over the net to your side. You claim “double bounce”; but he says “No, I got there.” What do you do?

First the rule: it is your opponent’s call (in singles or doubles); so you have to rely on his senses – or sense of honesty.

But as my tennis friend Spike Gonzales noted to me in that situation: if the ball lands on your side with TOP SPIN (and takes a slight bounce forward as it lands) it had to be either a double bounce or hit into ground by your opponent.

The situation also just happened at the blue-clay Madrid Open against Roger Federer. Tomas Berdych seemingly got to the ball (and the referee said he did); but Fed cited the topspin on the ball (to no avail).

So, watch carefully when your opponent is hitting AND when the ball lands.

4 thoughts on “The Double Bounce?

  1. Can’t quite figure out the topspin thing. If it is a double bounce, unless it hits the ground AFTER the strings or frame, it will be the same as a half volley whether it bounces once or twice. If the racket is coming up as it hits the ball, then it will have topspin just as a half volley can be looped up with topspin or blocked whick will then have underspin.

    Fred – i played singles today with a guy who had the same opinion. You’ve got to argue with Spike and The Fed! george.

  2. In my opinion topspin is not created by hitting the ball after the second bounce. Almost always there will be underspin when you’re hitting the ball on the rise.
    Topspin occurs when the ball hits the ground after contact with the racquet, which happens often when making contact very close to the second bounce.
    Basically, it is almost impossible to hit topspin when making a close get…unless the ball goes down into the ground after contact.

  3. I’m SO confused!!!! I’ve hit topsin of something that almost looks like a double bounce so not quit sure.

    Marc

Comments are closed.