When is a fake OK and when does it become cheating and an “intentional distraction”?
If you are playing singles and serving, you serve the ball and INTENTIONALLY take one (loud) step forward – like you are going to rush the net behind your serve – but then back up. Your opponent sees/hears this and misses his return of serve. Is that cheating and a hindrance?
According to Rule #26 of the code, “If a player is hindered in playing the point by a deliberate act of the opponent, the player shall win the point.”
I mixed in actually using serve/volley and this tactic the other day in a singles match … and it worked quite effectively against my opponent. He did not challenge me; but I wondered …
Is this tactic similar to faking a poach at the net in doubles, where it is acceptable for you take one step toward the center like you were crossing, but return to your spot? Or is this like the opponent you stomps his feet several times loudly to distract you when you are hitting the ball?
I think this is just like poaching – and OK to do. Anyone know a ruling on this one?