Loose ends

Here are two topics for today’s post: this line call and a Longboat Key look back.

IN or OUT?

First, this line call from my singles match yesterday with young friend Marc VanDam … without saying which side either one of us was on, is this sideline mark IN or OUT?

Second, looking back at the Longboat Key tournament, some notes and observations:

• 55 Singles – Sal Castillo went on from his 0-5 deficit to win both the singles and doubles. He has the sweetest backhand stroke you’d ever want to see; and if I can figure out how to do video, I will try to post my imitation of it soon.

• 65 Singles – I beat my first round opponent real easily… then, Ray Lake beats me real easily … then, Valor beats him 3 and 2… then, Evert Jonnson beats him 0 and 1!! (and in the finals, Hank Irvine beats Jonnson, his doubles partner, in three tight sets). But what does that all say about the levels of play?!

• 70 Singles – How good is Joe Bachmann? In the highly competitive 70s, he loses a total of SIX GAMES in winning his four matches and the title!!

• 75 Singles – And how good is King Van Nostrand? Pelican Bay’s senior’s champ Gordon Hammes beats everyone else, giving up on or two games a match; and then he “does well” and gets four games from King in the finals.

It sure is challenging (and fun) to be able to match up with some of these top players from around the country.
To see all the brackets, click HERE.

11 thoughts on “Loose ends

  1. Sure looks clearly to the left of the line, NOT touching it. So? Is that in or out? And to whose benefit, George???

    Marc – after the votes, i will share my opinion. geo

  2. George – My opinion from the picture…It’s not CLEARLY out, so it should be played good!

  3. OUT!!!!! no part of the skid mark touches the actual white line-it may touch the gray area next to the white line, but that is not actually the court line-awfully close but my call is out–good thing there is evidence–what do you do on a hard court-??-tough to call that out on a hard court without getting a few stares from across the net!!

  4. in regards to that photo. you’ve got to be kidding!

    Joe – soooooooooooooooo, what is your vote? geo

  5. Those are the ones that are out because of the undisturbed clay next to the line. If it is a serve they can be called but if this is a shot you are running to hit as a ground stroke, they are very difficult to anything but play the ball. George this is exactly the serve that was hit in our doubles match at Longboat in the shadows of court 10

    Bill – yes, it was an unreturnable serve; so the call could be made ‘leisurely’. geo

  6. Not to be a contrarian — ok, I usually am — but tracing the imaginary extension of the bottom of the oval caused by what obviously is the skid of the ball, the bottom of the oval appears to touch, if not overlap, the line. So, I would call it IN and not out for that reason alone. However, I further agree with Jeff (and disagree with Gail). That is, the ball is NOT “clearly out”. If anything, it is not clearly in OR out, but is in some nebulous in between category where it cannot be determined with precision either way. In that rarified situation, I believe the proper — and certainly honorable — thing to do would be to say that there is doubt — at the very least — about the call and, therefore, the rule that should/ must be followed is to give the opposing player the benefit of the doubt and call the ball good or in. In other words, metaphysically speaking, it really does not matter whether the ball is in or out; the rule of “when in doubt, the ball is good” is the controlling principle.

  7. FINALLY… someone who agrees with me… so i can now state my case: it was my serve that would have aced my opponent, except he called it out (for all the reason the Nay Sayers said above). But my position was exactly as Marty stated: if you draw the ellipse of the mark, it would have touched the line. But i know i am in trouble, if my only supporter is Marty Judge! tks anyway.

Comments are closed.