The momentum swings in your direction during a singles match and, in the middle of a game, your opponent says, “time out!” Can they do that?
Joe McAleer and I were playing a friendly match this week on a hot Naples day and he had taken some anti-biotics, which were impacting him. So, while I was serving 30-30, 2-4, he asked if he could sit for a minute and take a “time out.” I, of course, agreed.
But he went on to point out that he believed it was “legal” to take a time out – for any reason you want – at any time during a match.
He said it was done to him in a tournament match, when he was serving 5-4, 40-15. And he is sure his opponent did it just for the psychological impact – and it worked! After the time out, his opponent broke him and went on to win the set.
So, does anyone know the rule…
Can you take a time out at anytime?
Even without a claim of medical needs?
P.S. Joe came back from his time out with me to break my serve and go on to win the set.