The rule is pretty clear that you can play a let when your opponent loses their hat or a ball from their pocket during a point; but what if they lose their racquet during a point?
If they intentionally throw the racquet at the ball, they lose the point. But during a recent Davis Cup doubles match, TV announcer Justin Gimelstob commented that one of the Bryan brotherâ€™s almost lost control of their racquet during the point and if they did, that would mean they would lose the point.
During a doubles match I played in last week, our opponent lunged for a shot and, in getting it back over the net, lost his balance and his racquet. My partner got distracted and missed the ball at the net. So what is the rule, can you claim the point or at least a Let?
Not according to what I could find in the rules.
USTA Comment 24.8: What happens if a player stretches to hit a ball, the racquet falls to the ground and the ball then goes into the court for a winner? Answer: The player wins the point unless the racquet was not in the playerâ€™s hand at the instant the ball was struck.