During a USTA 4.5 SS League doubles match last week, there was a question about talking during a point in play.
We had a long exchange, mostly at the net; and while I was reaching for what ended up being the last shot, I was distracted by one of my opponents shouting â€œswitchâ€â€¦ and pushed my volley just a little wide.
While we didnâ€™t challenge the play then, we talked on the next changeover. My understanding is that your opponents cannot talk while the ball is on your side of the court; but my partner (a teaching pro) said that a USTA ref told him in a tournament that you have to stop play and not hit the ball in order to challenge the â€œhindranceâ€ of the sound.
The USTA rules of play are not clear on the issue: it says that they cannot talk when you are hitting (and would lose the point for doing so); but the example they give is on an overhead and says that if you â€œchooseâ€ to still make the shot, you cannot claim the point because you didnâ€™t make a â€œtimely claim of hindrance.â€
My contention is that there is NO time on a reflex volley; so it should at least be a let. Anybody know?